A Little About Myself……

Hello…… 🙂

My name is Natasha and I am 25 years of age. I am from a town in South Wales called Carmarthen, living in a small little village just outside called Abergwilli. In September 2013 I moved to Bristol, to go to university. Deciding to go to university at the age of 25 and moving away from home and the life I had made for myself since leaving school was a drastic change. Since leaving school at the age of 17 I had worked in various different roles throughout the health sector, starting off as a domiciliary carer, working as a support worker within the adult, children and adolescent mental health teams within Carmarthenshire and finishing up as a support worker within a company called Crossroads, which provided rest bite care to individuals and their families within the community – which allowed service users to remain living at home whilst giving their families a break. I thoroughly enjoyed my role within the Crossroads team. When I was 22, I decided that I wanted to create a better life for myself and decided to go back to college to undertake an access course, which I did part time alongside my job. After completing 1 year of my access course I applied to University to study Diagnostic Imaging, I got an offer from a few universities but decided that I wanted to study at UWE. September 2013 came and I moved to the Glenside campus halls and very nervously started my first day in uni.

1966881_10201199373141079_1108934815_n


This is the September 2013 Cohort, Diagnostic Imaging

Outside of academia, I have a dad, called Chris, a mum, called Gaynor and a (not so) little sister called Laura. Laura also attended UWE to study Diagnostic Imaging and is now a qualified radiographer, she helps my greatly within my course. I have a dog, called Lillie who is a miniature jack Russell and has a very loving/naughty personality and gets up to all sorts of mischief when nobody is watching. I also have a partner called Ben, to whom I recently got engaged to. I am very lucky in the respect that I have so much support in what I am currently doing from family and friends.

     546795_10151532544828517_556963071_n10590481_10201940915239168_2206424243033907614_n10425869_10202124220341681_7235448954000965028_n

I have made lots of friends in uni and also have friends that live in Carmarthen. In Bristol I live with two fellow radiography students, Jessica and Rob and also Liam who is a student paramedic. In my spare time I enjoy socializing with friends, reading, watching films and driving. I have played the piano since a very young age and also enjoy swimming and motor sport. I enjoy going back home at weekends to see my family, friends and also my dog, who is being looked after by my parents whilst I am at university. Whilst at university I have a job as a radiography assistant and I am looking forward to still having an active involvement within the radiography world alongside my studies and placements.

I have an interest in Forensic Radiography and one day I would like to specialize within this field, also having a keen interest in anthropology and forensics.

More information can be found on forensic radiography here:

http://afr.org.uk/about-us/

I have started this blog as part of my second year radiography studies, aiming to learn how to write reflectively and to improve my communications skills.


       

One response to “A Little About Myself……

Leave a Reply

